Home   About Arash   Iran   Web related   Links
  Information about country of Iran (Persia)

History of Iran > Safavīeh (Safavid)
1500 - 1736 A.D.
Previous era Previous era
Territory map
Next era Next era

The Safavid dynasty had its origins in a long established Sufi order which had flourished in Azerbaijan since the early 14th century. Its founder was Sheikh Safi al-Din (d.1334) after whom it is named. He came from Ardebil, where his shrine exists to this day. Originally they were of the Sunni persuasion although the records were doctored when they came to power to show that they were Shi'ite. In 1501 the young head of the order, Shah Ismail I (1501-1524), who was a grandson on his mother's side of Ouzun Hassan, defeated the Turkoman Aq-Quiunlu ruler of Iran, Alvand, at Sharur and occupied Tabriz. The victory was managed with the help of the Shi'ite Qizilbash Turkoman tribesmen who wore a hat with twelve tassels in honour of the twelve Imams. He died at Ardebil on a pilgrimage to the tomb of his father, and his son and successor, Shah Tahmasp I (1524-76) moved the capital southward to Qazvin.
Important events
  • Death of the philosopher-gnostic Mollâ Sadrâ (1640 A.D.)
  • Kings
    Esmail 1501 - 1524
    Tahmasb 1524 - 1576
    Esmail II 1576 - 1577
    Sultan Mohammad 1577 - 1587
    Shah Abbas I 1587 - 1629
    Safi I 1629 - 1642
    Abbas II 1642 - 1666
    Safi II 1666 - 1694
    Shah Soltan Hosseyn 1694 - 1722
    Tahmasb II 1722 - 1732
    Abbas III 1732 - 1736

    Shah Soleyman II (Mir Sayyed Mohammad) 1749 - 1750
    Esmail III 1750 - 1773

      |  about  |        Copyright © 2002 All Rights Reserved.